You now know what is going to be done - that's a good thing. I'm sorry that it is going to be quite extensive. I have personally come across people who have had this type of surgery and have come through it all.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .